Living up to your potential

All I could do was hang my head and let out a soft “yeah”. My mentor was calling me out once again, and I had no defense. Yep, a defense against Not using my own potential for my own success. Who needs enemies? I was majoring in self-oppression and minoring in helplessness.  This is hard for me to admit, let alone write. Imagine if you had to write down a list of your biggest roadblocks/enemies. If you were really being honest, your list might look like this:

1. Time (consider how much you waste and how you could improve) Nelson Mandela spent 27 years in prison, in what many would consider the “prime” of his life. Instead of wasting away under the weight of his circumstances (unjustly imprisoned for demanding civil rights for his people under a racist apartheid government) he used his intelligence, will and integrity to influence his other inmates, bend the will of the guards to reconsider the humanity of himself and others and became the symbol of the anti-apartheid movement. Time is precious, use it wisely.

2. Effort or Will is the Determination to live up to your potential and is the fuel to our success. You decide if you want regular fuel or premium

3. What Ifs- You possess the potential to visualize your own successes and failures.  Failure is not a fate worse than death but something literally every single person to ever breathe will experience.  What if I fail? What if I succeed? You don’t know unless you at least try.

I say all that to say, your potential is as unique as your fingerprint, it is your DNA blueprint to success. In my opinion, this unique potential is why copycats always get caught, haters never prosper and those who work to block your success can never achieve their goals.  You can’t deny what’s in your DNA.

In moving forward to claim your birthright to success, maybe you need to do what I am doing- Getting out of my own way!

Leave a Reply

